Established in 2006, Afghanistan's Independent Election Commission (IEC) is constitutionally mandated to administer and supervise all types of elections and referenda (Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, Article 156). The IEC duties and responsibilities are detailed in the Law on Structures, Duties and Auhtorities of the IEC and the Independent Electoral Complaints Commission, passed by the National Assembley and endorsed by then-President Karzai in July, 2013.

IEC has seven members which includes the chairperson, deputy and secretary. As well there are senior advisors on legal, administration, internal audit, monitoring and evaluation directors under direct supervision of IEC. The IEC Board of Commissioners is responsible for the overall policy making: the adoption of measures to ensure the credibility of the elections; and over sigh of the IEC Secretariat which implements the technical and operational aspects of the electoral process.

IECs is the executive unit for the electoral process. IECs structure includes three deputies ( Operational, communication and strategic and admin and finance). IECs has 9 directors at HQ level under direct supervision of deputies and 34 provincial offices and regions are under direct supervision of IEC CEO. As well as the legal department, head of executive office for CEO and CEO advisor are working under IECs.

The IECS is the executive arm of the IEC and is responsible for the implementation of the election operation in accordance with the policy framework defined by the IEC. The IECS is headed by chief of secretariat who is appointed by the President from among professionals requested by the IEC.

The chart below outlines the organizational structure of the IEC and the IECS:

IEC Structure


IEC Social Pages